Ph.D. Dissertation Defense
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Department of Oncology

Rachel Sexton

"XPO1 as a Therapeutic Target in Gastric Cancer"
Mentor: Asfar Azmi, Ph.D.

Zoom Defense

January 25, 2022

2:00 pm


Meeting ID: 929 6352 7402, Password: 481844


Master's and doctorate graduates celebrate personal and professional journeys at in-person commencement ceremony - School of Medicine News - Wayne State University


The Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute's Grand Rounds

Presented by: 

7:30 a.m., Thursday, 
Microsoft Teams
   Join Microsoft Teams Meeting
+1 810-275-1295 United States, Flint (Toll)
Conference ID: 156 581 611#


Congratulations Adrianne Wallace-Povirk on successfully defending your Ph.D. dissertation.

"Targeting Metabolic Vulnerabilites in Epithelial Ovarian Cancer via Folate Transporters"

 Mentor: Larry Matherly, Ph.D.


Congratulations Morenci M. Manning on successfully defending your PhD dissertation.

"Clinical Significance, Functional Role, and Molecular Mechanism of 2'-O-Methyltransferase FTSJ3 in Promotiong Cancer Prpgression"

Mentor: Zeng-Quan Yang, Ph.D.

Congratulations Adrianne C. Wallace-Povirk 
2021 Leonard N. Simons Award for Exemplary Research and Scholarly Achievement


Congratulations Gabriel B. Mpilla on successfully defending your PhD dissertation.

"PAK4-NAMPT Dual Inhibition as a Novel Strategy for Therapy Resistant Pancreatic Neuroendocrine Tumors"

Mentor: Asfar Azmi, Ph.D.


Congratulations Jordan M. White on successfully defending your PhD dissertation.

 "Development of Novel Immunopet Agents as Predictive Markers for Response to Treatment"

Mentor: Nerissa Viola, Ph.D.

Congratulations Patrick D. Rädler on successfully defending your PhD dissertation.

"Highly Metastatic Claudin-Low Mammary Cancers Can Originate From Luminal Epithelial Cells"

Advisor: Kay-Uwe Wagner, Ph.D.


Congratulations Allison V. Mitchell
2020 Leonard N. Simons Award for Exemplary Research and Scholarly Achievement


Rachel Sexton
2019 DOD Horizon Award (2020-2022), Department of Defense


Congratulations Poster Prize Winners

Karmanos Cancer Institute 2019 Molecular Therapeutics Research Tumor Biology Microenvironment Symposium - Wednesday, June 19, 2019

1st PRIZE: Kayla Conner
2nd PRIZE: Justin Hackett
3rd PRIZE: Niko Moses


Congratulations to the following Cancer Biology Graduate Program Students for their outstanding achievement during the 9thAnnual Cancer Biology Research

Symposium held on Friday, March 29, 2019.

Oral Presentation Awards
1st Prize - Patrick Rädler
2nd Prize - Jordan White

Poster Presentation Awards
1st Prize - Ethan Brock
2nd Prize - Joshua Heyza
3rd Prize - Emily Teslow

People's Choice Award - Niko Moses




Ivory Dean, Ph.D. - Congratulations on representing the School of Medicine, Cancer Biology Graduate Program as the Student Commencement Speaker for the December 2014 Commencement Ceremony, Saturday, December 6, 2014.